Club Information

Several local organizations support NEDECN with amateur radio operators and technical expertise.

These include:

  1. BARC – Boston Amateur Radio Club
  2. Barnstable County Amateur Radio Club
  3. Coos Co. ARES
  4. CTDARN – Connecticut Digital Amateur Radio Network
  5. CVFMA – Connecticut Valley FM Association
  6. Dukes Co. Emergency Management
  7. Falmouth Amateur Radio Association
  8. Maine-DMR
  9. Metrowest DMR Group
  10. Mohawk ARC
  12. NH State EOC
  13. NWS Gray, ME
  14. North Shore Amateur Radio Assn.
  15. Repeater Research Assn.
  16. Southern Maine Digital Group
  17. Southern NH Digital Group
  18. Vermont Interconnect Team
  19. White Mountain Amateur Radio Club
  20. WRRC – West River Radio Club

History of NEDECN:

One of the primary founders of the New England Digital Emergency Communications Network was Mike Bernock, N1IW. Mike and Bill, NE1B, began experimenting with the new Amateur DMR technology in 2011. Bill, a retired Motorola engineer, envisioned putting together the first New England wide area DMR system. Mike, the consummate MITRE communications engineer, became the sounding board and technical consultant for the future network. Prior to Mike’s death in 2014, he had requested that all of his ham radio gear be used to fund the expansion of this digital network. The funding infusion became the resource for the initial build out of 20+ repeaters in NH and MA.

The New England Digital Emergency Communications Network (NEDECN) continues to grow to over 90 repeaters in 2019 and provides reliable communications for special events including Boston Marathon, Vermont 100, State EOC, SKYWARN and NWS. Due to size and scope of the network, the organization has formed a Non-Profit Club with the following structure:


  • President: Bill Barber, NE1B
  • VP: Paul Beasley, N1PFB
  • Secretary: Geoff Johnson, KB1POR
  • Treasurer: Dave Franco, N1EMC


  • Ken Middleton, AG2K (CT Director)
  • Jim Podsiadlo, AE1C (MA Director)
  • Tom Marshall, AA1SM (ME Director)
  • Ron Egalka, K1RE (NH Director)
  • TBD (RI Director)
  • Don Price, KB5VP (VT Director)

Advisory Committee:

  • James Beaupre, KB1B
  • Joe Ciarcia, K1JC
  • Reese Fowler, W1RCF
  • Ted Gamlin, K1OX
  • Dave Pascoe, KM3T
  • Michael Singewald, N1PLH
  • Peter Speen, K1SUB
  • Matt Wagner, N1ZYY
  • Rick Zach, K1RJZ